Welcome!

Hello friends! This is my very first blog post. Phew! After 2 years of procrastination, dilly-dallying + enjoying other peoples’ blogs… I’m here! My name’s Kate, I own + run 3 online shops, [2 fashion labels + 1 dollhouse miniature shop].

As part of my handmade business, I also do a lot of other interesting projects – like ongoing custom cosplay commissions, making costumes for a museum, creating custom gowns + doing local alterations + even doing some local fashion label production – from homewares to underwear, swimwear + streetwear.

I’ve sold at various handmade boutique/urban markets, vintage + retro events, fashion events & even stocked one of my all-time-favourite brick + mortar shops. One of my pieces garnered interest from Cosmopolitan Bride AU Magazine, my online brands were offered a scholarship place at a HUGE trade show in London for alternative fashion, and due to the power of Etsy – I’m able to sell globally, everyday, 24-7-365. I have my fingers in a lot of pies. Mmm pies.

pack
Packing + shipping – part of the weekly ritual

So, without sounding like I’m tooting my own horn, I want to let you know that I have been there, done [some] things, and made mistakes, and now I’m here to share everything with you! From sewing know-how, to style + DIY inspiration, plus lots of tutorials I can’t wait to make + share. With factory clothing rampant, the world is becoming a little less interesting, and a little more stock-standard bland. We have forgotten how to do things that our Grandmothers could do. We will throw something away because it has a tear, or a hole, a missing button even??!

makedo_49
What a wonderful piece of fashion history found on the internet. If this is your scanned piece – let me know & I’ll credit/link you here!

I have been sewing for over 15 years + have a professional diploma in the field. I now work from my home studio/atelier every day + could not be happier. I have learnt all sorts of craft and DIY techniques, and I’m here to share everything from fashion, style, craft + DIY, home decor inspiration, handmade business advice, food, lifestyle + more.

If you love all things sewing, vintage + retro, DIY, cute + unusual – you’re in the right place! Hop on over to my Facebook pages & let me know what you would like to read about!
P1200242

FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/BettieKawaii/?ref=hl
FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/BettieDreadful/?ref=hl

Etsy: http://www.bettiekawaii.etsy.com
Etsy: http://www.bettiedreadful.etsy.com
Etsy: http://www.bettieminiatures.etsy.com


Leave a Reply

